NP Awards

Honoring Excellence

Through its Nurse Practitioner of Distinction and Bridging Health Care Needs awards, CANP honors individuals who have distinguished themselves as fully engaged in the betterment of their association, profession and communities.

The awards are presented during CANP’s Annual Education Conference. Reflecting a new policy adopted for 2019, the awards are now be presented in alternating years. The NP of Distinction Award is presented in odd years, and the Bridging Health Care Needs Award is presented in even years.

CANP has also instituted the Nurse Practitioner Advocate of the Year Award, presented since 2002 to recognize contributions to the NP profession by those in the legislative, policy and regulatory realms.

Nurse Practitioner of Distinction Award

The Nurse Practitioner of Distinction Award specifically recognizes a CANP member who demonstrates excellence in furthering the nurse practitioner role, either in legislative efforts or clinical application. This award is presented during odd-numbered years. Past winners include:

2023 Charlotte Thomas
2021 Garrett Chan
2019 Kristin Rhodes
2018 Beth Haney
2017 Susan Tiso
2016 Karen Macauley
2015 Kristin Kopelson
2014 Elaine Go
2013 Surani Kwan
2012 Jill Olmstead
2011 Susie Phillips
2010 Sue Hoyt
2009 Marty Williams
2008 Barbara Dehn
2007 Tracy Fremd
2006 Betsy Stapleton
2005 Conrad Rios
2004 Linda Faney
2003 Linda Land
2002 Susie Phillips

Bridging Health Care Needs Award

The Bridging Health Care Needs Award recognizes nurse practitioners who are active as a catalyst for positive change in the health care system, and who demonstrate the value of the care nurse practitioners provide to their patients. This award is presented during even-numbered years. Past winners include:

2024 Debra Bakerjian
2022 Michele Seckington
2020 Alexa Curtis
2018 Judy Harris
2017 Evy Silk
2016 Karen Deck
2015 Wendy Smith
2014 Camille Fitzpatrick
2013 Debra Palmer
2012 Sandra Bresnahan and Sigalit Marmorstein
2011 Fe Mangila-White
2010 Laura Miller
2009 Matt Frietas
2008 Patricia Gahagan